What You Want to Know::Leaving Taiwan

Today’s “What You Want to Know” post is coming from Stefanie‘s question: Do you ever think it will be hard to leave Taiwan?

While I can’t say no, I can’t say yes to this question either. This is a hard one because in the previous question I mentioned things that I will in fact miss, but I honestly don’t think it will be hard for me to leave Taiwan. I love certain aspects and things from here, but I’ll be honest, my mind is already back in the U.S. (Does that sound bad? lol) Most of the friends I met here moved back a year (or longer) ago. I miss holidays and my family and friends.

It will be hard to leave the mountains and scenery, but I will cherish the fresh air I’ll breathe in upon arrival home and the clean skies that allow me to enjoy the view. It will be hard to leave the snacks and drinks that are so easy and cheap to purchase here, but I will scarf down all the deliciousness of each season that is hard to come by here, and I look forward to becoming more active in the kitchen. It will be hard to leave all of the the gorgeous tropical flowers behind, but I will embrace the farmer’s markets and seasonal colors. (Having that sense of time back will be delightful, too!) It will be hard to leave those Taiwanese citizens I’ve met and grown close to over the years, but I know we will come visit again – and they can always visit us. 😉 It will be hard to leave the fun, exciting night markets and street vendor shopping, but it will be nice to get back to a place that has clothes that fit the way I like (no more booty shorts, please!) and jeans that don’t cost a bazillion dollars.

So, this is a tough question because it will be hard to leave the country I’ve called home for the past three years, but it will be great all in the same. I have no illusions about the things I will miss, but I’ve been gone this long already, so it’s hard to say that I don’t miss my original home, either. This is why I plan on utilizing my remaining time here to include all of the things that I know I won’t be able to do/have/get back home so that at least when it comes time to readjust, I will know that I took the time to really take in my experience and enjoy it.

I hope that answered your question, and thanks for leaving one! (Miss you!)

Image by Laura Smith

 

One thought on “What You Want to Know::Leaving Taiwan

  1. Pingback: What You Want to Know:: What I Hate About Living Abroad | Laura's Life [Abroad]

Leave a Reply

